This past Saturday I decided to start potty training my 19 month old son. I probably would have waited just a little longer but he told me he had to potty and then did it. This is very exciting! If I can get him potty trained then I won’t have to buy any more diapers. YAY!

So that night I pulled out his Peter Potty and put it together. (If you don’t know what a Peter Potty is, it’s like a training potty but it’s a urinal.) I spent the whole next day trying to potty train my son. I had heard a tip from someone that when a child is potty training you should take them to the potty every 30 min. So that’s what I did.

Nothing happened. He did not use the potty 1 time. But he did get very familiar with the potty. When ever we went in there all he wanted to do was play with this new toy. There is a tank that sits on top of the Peter Potty filled with water. When you press the button water comes down to rinse the potty out. That’s all my son wanted to do. Make the water come.

The next day I had to go to work and my son stayed with my husband’s grandmother. She said she would continue the potty training. When I got back to her that evening we had a very good report. He had told her he needed to potty twice and used the potty both times. But he never wet in the potty. He kept wetting in his training pants.

So Day 3 of potty training and my son can recognize when he needs to go #2 just having some trouble with #1.

I’ll keep this blog updated with our potty training progress. Maybe I can throw in some tips on what we are doing to potty train. I know every child is different and they say boys are harder to train than girls. Hopefully my son will be just as easy as my daughter was.


Peter Potty Toddler Urinal